Skip to Content

Guidelines for Admission Period in PhD Programmes at OsloMet – Oslo Metropolitan University

Approved by the Academic Affairs Committee at OsloMet (former Oslo and Akershus University College of Applied Sciences) on 16 October 2012.
  1. The nominal length of the PhD programme is three years of full-time study. A PhD candidate may be admitted to a PhD programme at Oslo and Akershus University College of Applied Sciences for up to six years from the start date. The admission start date shall also serve as the start date for funding. When the admission period in the programme is calculated, statutory leave of absence and interruptions due to documented illness are not included.
  2. Extended time in the programme beyond the nominal length of study may be granted on the basis of an application to the faculty's PhD Committee for one year at a time and no more than three times. The application should contain a schedule and should be recommended by the supervisor. In cases where the supervisor does not recommend an application may be reviewed by the faculty/centre's PhD Committee. The PhD Committee may deny an application for extended time in a programme if it finds that a candidate's progression has been poor.
  3. A PhD candidate is entitled to 210 hours of supervision, including preparatory/follow-up work during the nominal length of study (see the programme description for the relevant PhD programme). If the PhD candidate does not complete the programme within the nominal length of study, a total of up to 40 hours of additional supervision may be granted on application for the period the candidate remains in the programme beyond the nominal length of study.
  4. A PhD candidate who has been admitted to a programme during a nominal length of study and who has completed the training component but for various reasons has left the programme may nonetheless submit his/her thesis and apply to have it assessed in accordance with the Regulations relating to the Degree of Philosophiae Doctor (PhD) at Oslo Metropolitan University, section 2-5 (3).